Page Notes  
The Home Run Derby takes place during the MLB All-Star Festivities. The mini-tournament has taken many forms over the years but essentially is a competition for the power hitters of the day to compete to see who can hit the most home runs in a tournament format.
About the Data:HR Derby Data | All-Star Games Data

Learn more about TBC data and the site in the About TBC section. Also, don't forget to find a way to Support TBC.
Related Data Products:MLB Stats History | Spring Training Statistics | Summer League Stats

The TBC Data Store allows you to purchase the data you see on the site. The store has standard pre-determined data products as well as the ability to work with us to produce custom data extracts based on your requirements.
Get TBC PREMIUM and remove ads, cleaner display, access to research applications, data store discounts and more!
The TBC Newsletter will keep you periodically up-to-date on what is happening at The Baseball Cube.

Home Run Derby by Year

top csv share Sort
YearChampionPlayer CountList of all Participants
2019Ronald Acuna8Ronald Acuna, Pete Alonso, Josh Bell, Alex Bregman, Matt Chapman, Vladimir Guerrero, Joc Pederson, Carlos Santana
2018Bryce Harper8Jesus Aguilar, Javier Baez, Alex Bregman, Freddie Freeman, Bryce Harper, Rhys Hoskins, Max Muncy, Kyle Schwarber
2017Aaron Judge8Cody Bellinger, Charlie Blackmon, Justin Bour, Aaron Judge, Mike Moustakas, Gary Sanchez, Miguel Sano, Giancarlo Stanton
2016Giancarlo Stanton8Robinson Cano, Adam Duvall, Todd Frazier, Carlos Gonzalez, Wil Myers, Corey Seager, Giancarlo Stanton, Mark Trumbo
2015Todd Frazier8Kris Bryant, Josh Donaldson, Prince Fielder, Todd Frazier, Manny Machado, Joc Pederson, Albert Pujols, Anthony Rizzo
2014Yoenis Cespedes10Jose Bautista, Yoenis Cespedes, Josh Donaldson, Brian Dozier, Todd Frazier, Adam Jones, Justin Morneau, Yasiel Puig, Giancarlo Stanton, Troy Tulowitzki
2013Yoenis Cespedes8Pedro Alvarez, Robinson Cano, Yoenis Cespedes, Michael Cuddyer, Chris Davis, Prince Fielder, Bryce Harper, David Wright
2012Prince Fielder8Jose Bautista, Carlos Beltran, Robinson Cano, Prince Fielder, Carlos Gonzalez, Matt Kemp, Andrew McCutchen, Mark Trumbo
2011Robinson Cano8Jose Bautista, Robinson Cano, Prince Fielder, Adrian Gonzalez, Matt Holliday, Matt Kemp, David Ortiz, Rickie Weeks
2010David Ortiz8Miguel Cabrera, Corey Hart, Matt Holliday, David Ortiz, Hanley Ramirez, Nick Swisher, Vernon Wells, Chris Young
2009Prince Fielder8Nelson Cruz, Prince Fielder, Adrian Gonzalez, Ryan Howard, Brandon Inge, Joe Mauer, Carlos Pena, Albert Pujols
2008Justin Morneau8Lance Berkman, Ryan Braun, Josh Hamilton, Evan Longoria, Justin Morneau, Grady Sizemore, Dan Uggla, Chase Utley
2007Vladimir Guerrero8Prince Fielder, Vladimir Guerrero, Matt Holliday, Ryan Howard, Justin Morneau, Magglio Ordonez, Albert Pujols, Alex Rios
2006Ryan Howard8Lance Berkman, Miguel Cabrera, Jermaine Dye, Troy Glaus, Ryan Howard, David Ortiz, Miguel Tejada, David Wright
2005Bobby Abreu8Bobby Abreu, Jason Bay, Hee Seop Choi, Andruw Jones, Carlos Lee, David Ortiz, Ivan Rodriguez, Mark Teixeira
2004Miguel Tejada8Lance Berkman, Hank Blalock, Barry Bonds, David Ortiz, Rafael Palmeiro, Sammy Sosa, Miguel Tejada, Jim Thome
2003Garret Anderson8Garret Anderson, Bret Boone, Carlos Delgado, Jim Edmonds, Jason Giambi, Albert Pujols, Richie Sexson, Gary Sheffield
2002Jason Giambi8Lance Berkman, Barry Bonds, Jason Giambi, Torii Hunter, Paul Konerko, Alex Rodriguez, Richie Sexson, Sammy Sosa
2001Luis Gonzalez8Barry Bonds, Bret Boone, Jason Giambi, Troy Glaus, Luis Gonzalez, Todd Helton, Alex Rodriguez, Sammy Sosa
2000Sammy Sosa9Carlos Delgado, Carl Everett, Ken Griffey, Ken Griffey, Vladimir Guerrero, Chipper Jones, Edgar Martinez, Ivan Rodriguez, Sammy Sosa
YearChampionPlayer CountList of all Participants
1999Ken Griffey10Jeff Bagwell, Jeromy Burnitz, Nomar Garciaparra, Shawn Green, Ken Griffey, John Jaha, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, B.J. Surhoff, Larry Walker
1998Ken Griffey10Moises Alou, Vinny Castilla, Damion Easley, Ken Griffey, Chipper Jones, Javy Lopez, Mark McGwire, Rafael Palmeiro, Alex Rodriguez, Jim Thome
1997Tino Martinez10Brady Anderson, Jeff Bagwell, Nomar Garciaparra, Ken Griffey, Chipper Jones, Ray Lankford, Tino Martinez, Mark McGwire, Jim Thome, Larry Walker
1996Barry Bonds10Brady Anderson, Jeff Bagwell, Barry Bonds, Jay Buhner, Ellis Burks, Joe Carter, Mark McGwire, Henry Rodriguez, Gary Sheffield, Greg Vaughn
1995Frank Thomas8Albert Belle, Ron Gant, Raul Mondesi, Manny Ramirez, Reggie Sanders, Sammy Sosa, Frank Thomas, Mo Vaughn
1994Ken Griffey8Jeff Bagwell, Albert Belle, Dante Bichette, Ken Griffey, Fred McGriff, Mike Piazza, Ruben Sierra, Frank Thomas
1993Juan Gonzalez8Albert Belle, Barry Bonds, Bobby Bonilla, Cecil Fielder, Juan Gonzalez, Ken Griffey, David Justice, Mike Piazza
1992Mark McGwire8Barry Bonds, Joe Carter, Ken Griffey, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Cal Ripken, Gary Sheffield, Larry Walker
1991Cal Ripken8George Bell, Joe Carter, Cecil Fielder, Howard Johnson, Paul O'Neill, Cal Ripken, Chris Sabo, Danny Tartabull
1990Ryne Sandberg8Bobby Bonilla, Jose Canseco, Cecil Fielder, Ken Griffey, Mark McGwire, Ryne Sandberg, Darryl Strawberry, Matt Williams
1989Eric Davis8Eric Davis, Glenn Davis, Gary Gaetti, Bo Jackson, Howard Johnson, Kevin Mitchell, Ruben Sierra, Mickey Tettleton
1987Andre Dawson4George Bell, Andre Dawson, Mark McGwire, Ozzie Virgil
1986Darryl Strawberry6Jesse Barfield, Hubie Brooks, Jose Canseco, Wally Joyner, Dave Parker, Darryl Strawberry
1986Wally Joyner6Jesse Barfield, Hubie Brooks, Jose Canseco, Wally Joyner, Dave Parker, Darryl Strawberry
1985Dave Parker10Tom Brunansky, Jack Clark, Carlton Fisk, Steve Garvey, Dale Murphy, Eddie Murray, Dave Parker, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken, Ryne Sandberg
35 record(s)
Year Context-dependent but usually self-evident. (Season, Draft Year etc)