Tips Updates
Daily
Players
Teams
Leagues
Draft
Boxscores
Minor Leagues
College
People
Extra Bases
Applications
About

1972 MLB PlayoffsSummary
Follow TBC on Twitter and Facebook


Ken Holtzman played for the Oakland Athletics in the 1972 World Series.
Summary view of the 1972 Major League Baseball Playoffs. Each game has a link the game boxscore and play by play results. click the 'View Series' link to see series capsules and statistics.

Participating TeamsOakland Athletics, Cincinnati Reds, Detroit Tigers, Pittsburgh Pirates
World Series ChampionsOakland Athletics (6th Title)

Playoffs Main -- Leagues Main -- Major League Franchises -- About Playoffs Data


Jump to Series
World Series -- OAK 4 CIN 3
AL Championship Series -- OAK 3 DET 2
NL Championship Series -- CIN 3 PIT 2
PREV   NEXT

List of 1972 Playoff Series

Top

World Series: Oakland Athletics [4]     Cincinnati Reds [3] View SeriesWorld Series Most Valuable Player: Gene Tenace


1.   Saturday 1972-10-14 - Oakland Athletics 3 vs Cincinnati Reds 2   box - pbp
2.   Sunday 1972-10-15 - Oakland Athletics 2 vs Cincinnati Reds 1   box - pbp
3.   Wednesday 1972-10-18 - Cincinnati Reds 1 vs Oakland Athletics 0   box - pbp
4.   Thursday 1972-10-19 - Cincinnati Reds 2 vs Oakland Athletics 3   box - pbp
5.   Friday 1972-10-20 - Cincinnati Reds 5 vs Oakland Athletics 4   box - pbp
6.   Saturday 1972-10-21 - Oakland Athletics 1 vs Cincinnati Reds 8   box - pbp
7.   Sunday 1972-10-22 - Oakland Athletics 3 vs Cincinnati Reds 2   box - pbp

AL Championship Series: Oakland Athletics [3]     Detroit Tigers [2] View SeriesALCS Most Valuable Player:


1.   Saturday 1972-10-07 - Detroit Tigers 2 vs Oakland Athletics 3   box - pbp
2.   Sunday 1972-10-08 - Detroit Tigers 0 vs Oakland Athletics 5   box - pbp
3.   Tuesday 1972-10-10 - Oakland Athletics 0 vs Detroit Tigers 3   box - pbp
4.   Wednesday 1972-10-11 - Oakland Athletics 3 vs Detroit Tigers 4   box - pbp
5.   Thursday 1972-10-12 - Oakland Athletics 2 vs Detroit Tigers 1   box - pbp

NL Championship Series: Cincinnati Reds [3]     Pittsburgh Pirates [2] View SeriesNLCS Most Valuable Player:


1.   Saturday 1972-10-07 - Cincinnati Reds 1 vs Pittsburgh Pirates 5   box - pbp
2.   Sunday 1972-10-08 - Cincinnati Reds 5 vs Pittsburgh Pirates 3   box - pbp
3.   Monday 1972-10-09 - Pittsburgh Pirates 3 vs Cincinnati Reds 2   box - pbp
4.   Tuesday 1972-10-10 - Pittsburgh Pirates 1 vs Cincinnati Reds 7   box - pbp
5.   Wednesday 1972-10-11 - Pittsburgh Pirates 3 vs Cincinnati Reds 4   box - pbp