Tips Updates
Minor Leagues
Extra Bases

Major League Cy Young AwardHistory of Award Winners
Follow TBC on Twitter and Facebook

Early Wynn won this award in 1959
Recent history of winners for Major League Cy Young Award. There is some lag in updating awards data and they may not provide an entire history of winners. The list below is separated by year with a dividing line. Some awards have multiple award winners for all or some years.

Years Available1956-1966

Awards Listing -- Awards Voting History -- Extra Bases Main -- Leagues -- About Awards Data

Historical Winners - Major League Cy Young Award

Top Major Leaguers Active Players Drafted Players 1st Round Draft Picks
YearPlayer NamePosNotesC-AwardsHt Wt B-T BornDate Age Place HiLvlStat YearsMLB YearsDraft InformationCollege(s)StatusCurrent Org (Level)
1966Sandy KoufaxP86-2 210 R-L 1935-12-30 30Brooklyn,New York MLB1955-19661955-1966   Cincinnati  
1965Sandy KoufaxP86-2 210 R-L 1935-12-30 29Brooklyn,New York MLB1955-19661955-1966   Cincinnati  
1964Dean ChanceP26-3 200 R-R 1941-06-01 23Plain City,Ohio MLB1961-19711961-1971
1959-   UDFA-BAL
1963Sandy KoufaxP86-2 210 R-L 1935-12-30 27Brooklyn,New York MLB1955-19661955-1966   Cincinnati  
1962Don DrysdaleP46-6 216 R-R 1936-07-23 25Van Nuys,California MLB1956-19691956-1969    
1961Whitey FordP25-10 181 L-L 1928-10-21 32New York,New York MLB1950-19671950-1967    
1960Vern LawP46-2 195 R-R 1930-03-12 30Meridian,Idaho MLB1950-19671950-1967    
1959Early WynnP16-0 200 B-R 1920-01-06 39Hartford,Alabama MLB1939-19631939-1963    
1958Bob TurleyP26-2 215 R-R 1930-09-19 27Troy,Illinois MLB1951-19631951-1963    
1957Warren SpahnP36-0 175 L-L 1921-04-23 36Buffalo,New York MLB1942-19651942-1965    
1956Don NewcombeP36-4 225 L-R 1926-06-14 30Madison,New Jersey MLB1949-19601949-1960