Sponsoring a Page is a way of supporting The Baseball Cube. Put your name/site/message on your favorite player page!
"Organizing the World
of Baseball Data"
Home >> Events >> Hall of Fame >> Balloting/Voting >> 1989 Ballot

Hall of Fame Balloting

+ 1989
  • The National Baseball Hall of Fame is situated in Cooperstown, New York. Balloting takes place at the end of the calendar year and inductees are announced early the following year. The players are officially inducted in late July.
  • This is a listing of balloting results for 1989. Inductees must reach at least 75% to be inducted into the Hall of Fame and 5% to remain on the ballot for subsequent years. A player may stay on the ballot for 15 years and then he may be eligible to be inducted by the Veterans committee.
  • Future Hall of Famers (from subsequent votes) are highlighted in gold
  • RankPlayerFilterVotesShareVote NumberStatusPosHtWtB-TBornPlace of BirthDiedMLB Years
    1Johnny Bench43196.421ElectedC6-1208R-R1967-1983
    2Carl Yastrzemski42394.631ElectedOF5-11188L-R1961-1983
    3Gaylord Perry30468.011Remained on ballotP6-4215R-R1962-1983
    4Jim Bunning28363.3113Remained on ballotP6-3195R-R1955-1971
    5Fergie Jenkins23452.351Remained on ballotP6-5210R-R1965-1983
    6Orlando Cepeda17639.3710Remained on ballot1B6-2210R-R1958-1974
    7Tony Oliva13530.208Remained on ballotOF6-2190L-R1962-1976
    8Bill Mazeroski13429.9812Remained on ballot2B5-11183R-R1956-1972
    9Harvey Kuenn11525.7313Remained on ballotOF-SS6-2190R-R1952-1966
    10Maury Wills9521.2512Remained on ballotSS-3B5-11170B-R1959-1972
    11Jim Kaat8719.461Remained on ballotP6-4217L-L1959-1983
    12Ron Santo7516.786Remained on ballot3B6-0190R-R1960-1974
    13Ken Boyer6213.8710Remained on ballot3B-1B6-2200R-R1955-1969
    14Minnie Minoso5913.205Remained on ballotOF5-10175R-R1949-1980
    15Roy Face4710.5114Remained on ballotP5-8155R-R1953-1969
    16Mickey Lolich4710.515Remained on ballotP6-0210B-L1963-1979
    17Luis Tiant4710.512Remained on ballotP5-11190R-R1964-1982
    18Joe Torre408.957Remained on ballotC-1B6-1210R-R1960-1977
    19Dick Allen357.836Remained on ballot1B-3B5-11190R-R1963-1977
    20Vada Pinson337.388Remained on ballotOF5-11181L-L1958-1975
    21Thurman Munson316.949Remained on ballotC5-11191R-R1969-1979
    22Bobby Bonds296.493Remained on ballotOF6-1190R-R1968-1981
    23Curt Flood276.048Remained on ballotOF5-9165R-R1956-1971
    24Sparky Lyle255.592Remained on ballotP6-1195L-L1967-1982
    25Bert Campaneris143.131Removed (insuff votes)SS5-10160R-R1964-1983
    26Wilbur Wood143.136Removed (insuff votes)P6-0180R-L1961-1978
    27Manny Mota92.012Removed (insuff votes)OF5-11168R-R1962-1982
    28Bobby Murcer30.671Removed (insuff votes)OF5-11180L-R1965-1983
    29Gene Tenace10.221Removed (insuff votes)C-1B6-0190R-R1969-1983
    30Don Money10.221Removed (insuff votes)3B6-1190R-R1968-1983
    31Bill Robinson00.001Removed (insuff votes)OF6-3205R-R1966-1983
    32Bake McBride00.001Removed (insuff votes)OF6-2190L-R1973-1983
    33Rudy May00.001Removed (insuff votes)P6-3207L-L1965-1983
    34Jon Matlack00.001Removed (insuff votes)P6-3205L-L1971-1983
    35Dave Goltz00.001Removed (insuff votes)P6-4215R-R1972-1983
    36Cesar Geronimo00.001Removed (insuff votes)OF6-2170L-L1969-1983
    37Woodie Fryman00.001Removed (insuff votes)P6-2205R-L1966-1983
    38Joe Ferguson00.001Removed (insuff votes)C-OF6-2200R-R1970-1983
    39Terry Crowley00.001Removed (insuff votes)OF-1B6-0180L-L1969-1983
    40Jim Barr00.001Removed (insuff votes)P6-3205R-R1971-1983
    41Richie Zisk00.001Removed (insuff votes)OF6-1208R-R1971-1983

    About Us  |  Correct this Page  |  Site Map  |  Data Coverage  |  Support TBC | Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

    Boxscores data is obtained free of charge from Retrosheet.org.

    Please Support The Baseball Cube.

    PayPal Me