Sponsoring a Page is a way of supporting The Baseball Cube. Put your name/site/message on your favorite player page!
"Organizing the World
of Baseball Data"
Home >> Events >> All-Star Games >> Home Run Derby

Home Run Derby

+ All-Star Game History
Jump to: 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1991 1990 1989 1987 1986 1985
  • Since 1985, Major League Baseball has held a home run derby during the all-star game festivities.
  • The format has evolved over the years. Currently (since 2014), there are 4 rounds of 7 outs with 3 players out of 5 from each league advancing. 2 of these players will get a bye to the 3rd round. 2nd and 3rd place will face off in the second round for the right to play first round winner in the third round. The best from the AL will face the best from the NL in the finals.
  • Hitters bring their own pitcher. An out is registered when a batter swings at a pitch but does not hit a home run. The 1988 Home Run derby was cancelled due to rain.
  • Winners are listed in bold
  • Click a team name to filter on that team's historical participants.

  • Players sorted by appearance count
    PlayerYearsFreqTotal HR
    Ken Griffey1990-2000870
    Mark McGwire1987-1999756
    Sammy Sosa1995-2004665
    Barry Bonds1992-2004647
    David Ortiz2004-2011577
    Prince Fielder2007-2013568
    Lance Berkman2002-2008439
    Jeff Bagwell1994-1999416
    Jason Giambi2001-2003367
    Albert Pujols2003-2009350
    Ryan Howard2006-2009341
    Jose Bautista2011-2014338
    Robinson Cano2011-2013336
    Justin Morneau2007-2014328
    Larry Walker1992-1999325
    Matt Holliday2007-2011323
    Jim Thome1997-2004321
    Albert Belle1993-1995321
    Cal Ripken1985-1992317
    Alex Rodriguez1998-200239
    Gary Sheffield1992-200338
    Joe Carter1991-199638
    Cecil Fielder1990-199338
    Chipper Jones1997-200036
    Yoenis Cespedes2013-2014260
    Adrian Gonzalez2009-2011233
    Miguel Tejada2004-2006230
    David Wright2006-2013227
    Miguel Cabrera2006-2010227
    Rafael Palmeiro1998-2004224
    Ivan Rodriguez2000-2005221
    Vladimir Guerrero2000-2007219
    Frank Thomas1994-1995219
    Brady Anderson1996-1997215
    Richie Sexson2002-2003211
    Dave Parker1985-198629
    Carlos Delgado2000-200328
    Fred McGriff1992-199428
    Ruben Sierra1989-199427
    Bobby Bonilla1990-199325
    Ryne Sandberg1985-199025
    Darryl Strawberry1986-199024
    Matt Kemp2011-201223
    Bret Boone2001-200323
    George Bell1987-199123
    Howard Johnson1989-199122
    Nomar Garciaparra1997-199922
    Jose Canseco1986-199021
    Troy Glaus2001-200621
    Mike Piazza1993-199420
    Bobby Abreu2005-2005141
    Josh Hamilton2008-2008135
    Hanley Ramirez2010-2010126
    Bryce Harper2013-2013124
    Garret Anderson2003-2003122
    Nelson Cruz2009-2009121
    Alex Rios2007-2007119
    Luis Gonzalez2001-2001116
    Tino Martinez1997-1997116
    Michael Cuddyer2013-2013115
    Carlos Lee2005-2005115
    Ryan Braun2008-2008114
    Jeromy Burnitz1999-1999114
    Mark Trumbo2012-2012113
    Corey Hart2010-2010113
    Carl Everett2000-2000112
    Vinny Castilla1998-1998112
    Chris Davis2013-2013112
    Carlos Beltran2012-2012112
    Paul Konerko2002-2002112
    Todd Frazier2014-2014110
    Jim Edmonds2003-200318
    Jay Buhner1996-199618
    Adam Jones2014-201417
    Jermaine Dye2006-200617
    Moises Alou1998-199817
    Juan Gonzalez1993-199317
    Giancarlo Stanton2014-201416
    Pedro Alvarez2013-201316
    Dan Uggla2008-200816
    Mo Vaughn1995-199516
    Troy Tulowitzki2014-201416
    Grady Sizemore2008-200816
    Carlos Pena2009-200915
    Chase Utley2008-200815
    Hee Seop Choi2005-200515
    Javy Lopez1998-199815
    Paul O'Neill1991-199115
    Joe Mauer2009-200915
    Andruw Jones2005-200515
    Andrew McCutchen2012-201214
    Nick Swisher2010-201014
    Dale Murphy1985-198514
    Jim Rice1985-198514
    Carlos Gonzalez2012-201214
    Andre Dawson1987-198714
    Wally Joyner1986-198614
    Carlton Fisk1985-198514
    Eddie Murray1985-198514
    Tom Brunansky1985-198514
    Josh Donaldson2014-201413
    Rickie Weeks2011-201113
    Torii Hunter2002-200213
    Henry Rodriguez1996-199613
    Ron Gant1995-199513
    Evan Longoria2008-200813
    Hank Blalock2004-200413
    Manny Ramirez1995-199513
    Dante Bichette1994-199413
    Eric Davis1989-198913
    Magglio Ordonez2007-200712
    Shawn Green1999-199912
    Ray Lankford1997-199712
    Reggie Sanders1995-199512
    David Justice1993-199312
    Glenn Davis1989-198912
    Ozzie Virgil1987-198712
    Jack Clark1985-198512
    Brian Dozier2014-201412
    Vernon Wells2010-201012
    Mark Teixeira2005-200512
    Todd Helton2001-200112
    Edgar Martinez2000-200012
    B.J. Surhoff1999-199912
    Damion Easley1998-199812
    Raul Mondesi1995-199512
    Danny Tartabull1991-199112
    Kevin Mitchell1989-198912
    Jesse Barfield1986-198612
    Steve Garvey1985-198512
    Chris Young2010-201011
    Ellis Burks1996-199611
    Matt Williams1990-199011
    Bo Jackson1989-198911
    Hubie Brooks1986-198611
    John Jaha1999-199911
    Mickey Tettleton1989-198911
    Yasiel Puig2014-201410
    Brandon Inge2009-200910
    Jason Bay2005-200510
    Gary Gaetti1989-198910
    Greg Vaughn1996-199610
    Chris Sabo1991-199110

    About Us  |  Correct this Page  |  Site Map  |  Data Coverage  |  Support TBC | Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

    Boxscores data is obtained free of charge from Retrosheet.org.

    Please Support The Baseball Cube.

    PayPal Me