Support TBC:  If you're a frequent visitor and use the data on this site, please support The Baseball Cube by leaving a small tip.
Home >> Events >> MLB All-Star Game >> Home Run Derby >> Montreal Expos

MLB Home Run Derby

+    Montreal Expos Historical Participants
Since 1985, Major League Baseball has held a home run derby during the all-star game festivities. The format has evolved over the years.

Currently, there are 3 rounds of 10 outs with 4 players advancing to the 2nd round and 2 players to the finals. The HR totals from the first round carry over to the second round but the final round starts at 0. Hitters select their own pitcher. An out is registered when a batter swings at a pitch but does not hit a home run.
The 1988 Home Run derby was cancelled due to rain.
Winners are listed in bold
Click a team name to filter on that team's historical participants.
Filtered by Team: MON
YearRankPlayerTeamRound 1Round 2Round 3Total HR
20132Bryce HarperWAS88824
20007Vladimir GuerreroMON2--2
19965Henry RodriguezMON3--3
19926Larry WalkerMON4--4
19865Hubie BrooksMON1--1

Players sorted by frequency of appearances

PlayerFreqTotal HR
Ken Griffey870
Mark McGwire756
Sammy Sosa665
Barry Bonds647
David Ortiz577
Prince Fielder568
Lance Berkman439
Jeff Bagwell416
Jason Giambi367
Albert Pujols350
Ryan Howard341
Jose Bautista338
Robinson Cano336
Justin Morneau328
Larry Walker325
Matt Holliday323
Jim Thome321
Albert Belle321
Cal Ripken317
Alex Rodriguez39
Joe Carter38
Cecil Fielder38
Gary Sheffield38
Chipper Jones36
Yoenis Cespedes260
Adrian Gonzalez233
Miguel Tejada230
Miguel Cabrera227
David Wright227
Rafael Palmeiro224
Ivan Rodriguez221
Vladimir Guerrero219
Frank Thomas219
Brady Anderson215
Richie Sexson211
Dave Parker29
Carlos Delgado28
Fred McGriff28
Ruben Sierra27
Bobby Bonilla25
Ryne Sandberg25
Darryl Strawberry24
Bret Boone23
George Bell23
Matt Kemp23
Nomar Garciaparra22
Howard Johnson22
Troy Glaus21
Jose Canseco21
Mike Piazza20
Bobby Abreu141
Josh Hamilton135
Hanley Ramirez126
Bryce Harper124
Garret Anderson122
Nelson Cruz121
Alex Rios119
Luis Gonzalez116
Tino Martinez116
Michael Cuddyer115
Carlos Lee115
Jeromy Burnitz114
Ryan Braun114
Mark Trumbo113
Corey Hart113
Carl Everett112
Carlos Beltran112
Chris Davis112
Vinny Castilla112
Paul Konerko112
Todd Frazier110
Jay Buhner18
Jim Edmonds18
Adam Jones17
Moises Alou17
Jermaine Dye17
Juan Gonzalez17
Pedro Alvarez16
Dan Uggla16
Giancarlo Stanton16
Mo Vaughn16
Grady Sizemore16
Troy Tulowitzki16
Chase Utley15
Andruw Jones15
Carlos Pena15
Javy Lopez15
Hee Seop Choi15
Joe Mauer15
Paul O'Neill15
Jim Rice14
Dale Murphy14
Carlos Gonzalez14
Nick Swisher14
Tom Brunansky14
Eddie Murray14
Carlton Fisk14
Wally Joyner14
Andrew McCutchen14
Andre Dawson14
Hank Blalock13
Eric Davis13
Ron Gant13
Torii Hunter13
Josh Donaldson13
Henry Rodriguez13
Dante Bichette13
Evan Longoria13
Rickie Weeks13
Manny Ramirez13
Dave Justice12
Magglio Ordonez12
Kevin Mitchell12
Vernon Wells12
Jack Clark12
Damion Easley12
Reggie Sanders12
Mark Teixeira12
Danny Tartabull12
Ozzie Virgil12
B.J. Surhoff12
Steve Garvey12
Edgar Martinez12
Glenn Davis12
Ray Lankford12
Todd Helton12
Raul Mondesi12
Brian Dozier12
Jesse Barfield12
Shawn Green12
Mickey Tettleton11
Hubie Brooks11
John Jaha11
Ellis Burks11
Bo Jackson11
Chris Young11
Matt Williams11
Chris Sabo10
Brandon Inge10
Gary Gaetti10
Yasiel Puig10
Jason Bay10
Greg Vaughn10

About Us  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

Boxscores data is obtained free of charge from

Please Support The Baseball Cube.