Update:   All-Star Game Section -  Yearly listing of all-star game results with boxscores. Summarized and detailed rosters and a list of players by ASG appearances.
Home >> Events >> MLB All-Star Game >> Home Run Derby >> Detroit Tigers

MLB Home Run Derby

+    Detroit Tigers Historical Participants
Since 1985, Major League Baseball has held a home run derby during the all-star game festivities. The format has evolved over the years.

Currently, there are 3 rounds of 10 outs with 4 players advancing to the 2nd round and 2 players to the finals. The HR totals from the first round carry over to the second round but the final round starts at 0. Hitters select their own pitcher. An out is registered when a batter swings at a pitch but does not hit a home run.
The 1988 Home Run derby was cancelled due to rain.
Winners are listed in bold
Click a team name to filter on that team's historical participants.
Filtered by Team: DET
YearRankPlayerTeamRound 1Round 2Round 3Total HR
20137Prince FielderDET5--5
20121Prince FielderDET5111228
20104Miguel CabreraDET75-12
20098Brandon IngeDET----
20078Magglio OrdonezDET2--2
20053Ivan RodriguezDET-8520
20052Ivan RodriguezDET7--20
19989Damion EasleyDET2--2
19935Cecil FielderDET4--4
19913Cecil FielderDET4--4
19905Cecil FielderDET----

Players sorted by frequency of appearances

PlayerFreqTotal HR
Ken Griffey870
Mark McGwire756
Sammy Sosa665
Barry Bonds647
David Ortiz577
Prince Fielder568
Lance Berkman439
Jeff Bagwell416
Jason Giambi367
Albert Pujols350
Ryan Howard341
Jose Bautista338
Robinson Cano336
Justin Morneau328
Larry Walker325
Matt Holliday323
Albert Belle321
Jim Thome321
Cal Ripken317
Alex Rodriguez39
Gary Sheffield38
Joe Carter38
Cecil Fielder38
Chipper Jones36
Yoenis Cespedes260
Adrian Gonzalez233
Miguel Tejada230
Miguel Cabrera227
David Wright227
Rafael Palmeiro224
Ivan Rodriguez221
Vladimir Guerrero219
Frank Thomas219
Brady Anderson215
Richie Sexson211
Dave Parker29
Fred McGriff28
Carlos Delgado28
Ruben Sierra27
Bobby Bonilla25
Ryne Sandberg25
Darryl Strawberry24
Matt Kemp23
George Bell23
Bret Boone23
Howard Johnson22
Nomar Garciaparra22
Troy Glaus21
Jose Canseco21
Mike Piazza20
Bobby Abreu141
Josh Hamilton135
Hanley Ramirez126
Bryce Harper124
Garret Anderson122
Nelson Cruz121
Alex Rios119
Luis Gonzalez116
Tino Martinez116
Carlos Lee115
Michael Cuddyer115
Ryan Braun114
Jeromy Burnitz114
Mark Trumbo113
Corey Hart113
Vinny Castilla112
Paul Konerko112
Carl Everett112
Carlos Beltran112
Chris Davis112
Todd Frazier110
Jay Buhner18
Jim Edmonds18
Adam Jones17
Moises Alou17
Jermaine Dye17
Juan Gonzalez17
Grady Sizemore16
Troy Tulowitzki16
Pedro Alvarez16
Dan Uggla16
Giancarlo Stanton16
Mo Vaughn16
Javy Lopez15
Hee Seop Choi15
Joe Mauer15
Paul O'Neill15
Chase Utley15
Andruw Jones15
Carlos Pena15
Eddie Murray14
Carlton Fisk14
Wally Joyner14
Andrew McCutchen14
Andre Dawson14
Jim Rice14
Dale Murphy14
Carlos Gonzalez14
Nick Swisher14
Tom Brunansky14
Rickie Weeks13
Manny Ramirez13
Hank Blalock13
Eric Davis13
Torii Hunter13
Ron Gant13
Josh Donaldson13
Henry Rodriguez13
Evan Longoria13
Dante Bichette13
Todd Helton12
Brian Dozier12
Raul Mondesi12
Jesse Barfield12
Shawn Green12
Dave Justice12
Magglio Ordonez12
Vernon Wells12
Kevin Mitchell12
Jack Clark12
Damion Easley12
Reggie Sanders12
Mark Teixeira12
Danny Tartabull12
Ozzie Virgil12
B.J. Surhoff12
Edgar Martinez12
Steve Garvey12
Ray Lankford12
Glenn Davis12
Matt Williams11
Mickey Tettleton11
Hubie Brooks11
John Jaha11
Ellis Burks11
Chris Young11
Bo Jackson11
Jason Bay10
Greg Vaughn10
Chris Sabo10
Brandon Inge10
Yasiel Puig10
Gary Gaetti10

About Us  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

Boxscores data is obtained free of charge from Retrosheet.org.

Please Support The Baseball Cube.