Sponsoring a Page is a way of supporting The Baseball Cube. Put your name/site/message on your favorite player page!
"Dozens of baseball data research applications."
Home >> College Baseball >> College World Series (CWS) | Summary

College World Series History

+ Summary View
  • The College World Series was first played in 1947 in Kalamazoo, Michigan and moved to Wichita in 1949 before settling in Omaha in 1950.
  • The College World Series is an annual NCAA Division I baseball tournament comprised of the top college baseball programs in the United States. Conference champions automatically qualify as automatic bids while the rest of the field is comprised of at-large teams that are considered based on RPI rankings.
  • The tournament is currently structured in 3 phases. (1) 16 Regionals which are mini-tournaments of 4 teams around the country. 1 team advances per regional. The regionals are set up as brackets. (2) The Super Regionals are 8 best-of-3 series where the 8 winners advance to the College World Series. (3) The College World Series is held in Omaha each June and is a double-elimination tournament.
  • Players listed 2002-present are Major Leaguers who played on this team. Prior to 2002, the list is Major Leaguers that were drafted from the school that season. (Juniors and Seniors only)
  • YearChampionNicknameTeam RecordHead CoachConferenceTeam Links
    2017University of FloridaGators42-16Kevin O'SullivanSoutheastern ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2016Coastal Carolina UniversityChanticleers49-16Gary GilmoreBig South ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2015University of VirginiaCavaliers44-24Brian O'ConnorAtlantic Coast ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2014Vanderbilt UniversityCommodores51-21Tim CorbinSoutheastern ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2013UCLABruins49-17John SavagePacific-12 ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2012University of ArizonaWildcats48-16Andy LopezPacific-12 ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2011University of South CarolinaGamecocks55-14Ray TannerSoutheastern ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2010University of South CarolinaGamecocks48-15Ray TannerSoutheastern ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2009Louisiana State UniversityTigers56-17Paul MainieriSoutheastern ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2008Fresno State UniversityBulldogs43-29Mike BatesoleWestern Athletic ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2007Oregon State UniversityBeavers47-18Pat CaseyPacific-10 ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2006Oregon State UniversityBeavers50-16Pat CaseyPacific-10 ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2005University of TexasLonghorns52-16Augie GarridoBig 12 ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2004Cal State FullertonTitans43-21George HortonBig West ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2003Rice UniversityOwls58-12Wayne GrahamWestern Athletic ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2002University of TexasLonghorns57-15Augie GarridoBig 12 ConferenceSchool Page | Statistics | Roster
    2001University of MiamiHurricanesSchool Page
    2000Louisiana State UniversityTigersSchool Page
    1999University of MiamiHurricanesSchool Page
    1998USCTrojansSchool Page
    1997Louisiana State UniversityTigersSchool Page
    1996Louisiana State UniversityTigersSchool Page
    1995Cal State FullertonTitansSchool Page
    1994University of OklahomaSoonersSchool Page
    1993Louisiana State UniversityTigersSchool Page
    1992Pepperdine UniversityWavesSchool Page
    1991Louisiana State UniversityTigersSchool Page
    1990University of GeorgiaBulldogsSchool Page
    1989Wichita State UniversityShockersSchool Page
    1988Stanford UniversityCardinalSchool Page
    1987Stanford UniversityCardinalSchool Page
    1986University of ArizonaWildcatsSchool Page
    1985University of MiamiHurricanesSchool Page
    1984Cal State FullertonTitansSchool Page
    1983University of TexasLonghornsSchool Page
    1982University of MiamiHurricanesSchool Page
    1981Arizona State UniversitySun DevilsSchool Page
    1980Arizona State UniversitySun DevilsSchool Page
    1979Cal State FullertonTitansSchool Page
    1978USCTrojansSchool Page
    1977Arizona State UniversitySun DevilsSchool Page
    1976University of ArizonaWildcatsSchool Page
    1975University of TexasLonghornsSchool Page
    1974USCTrojansSchool Page
    1973USCTrojansSchool Page
    1972USCTrojansSchool Page
    1971USCTrojansSchool Page
    1970USCTrojansSchool Page
    1969Arizona State UniversitySun DevilsSchool Page
    1968USCTrojansSchool Page
    1967Arizona State UniversitySun DevilsSchool Page
    1966Ohio State UniversityBuckeysSchool Page
    1965Arizona State UniversitySun DevilsSchool Page
    1964University of MinnesotaGophersSchool Page
    1963USCTrojansSchool Page
    1962University of MichiganWolverinesSchool Page
    1961USCTrojansSchool Page
    1960University of MinnesotaGophersSchool Page
    1959Oklahoma State UniversityCowboysSchool Page
    1958USCTrojansSchool Page
    1957University of CaliforniaBearsSchool Page
    1956University of MinnesotaGophersSchool Page
    1955Wake Forest UniversityDemon DeaconsSchool Page
    1954University of MissouriTigersSchool Page
    1953University of MichiganWolverinesSchool Page
    1952College of the Holy CrossCrusadersSchool Page
    1951University of OklahomaSoonersSchool Page
    1950University of TexasLonghornsSchool Page
    1949University of TexasLonghornsSchool Page
    1948USCTrojansSchool Page
    1947University of CaliforniaBearsSchool Page

    About Us  |  Correct this Page  |  Site Map  |  Data Coverage  |  Support TBC | Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

    Boxscores data is obtained free of charge from Retrosheet.org.

    Please Support The Baseball Cube.

    PayPal Me